11 Reasons Why I became a Nurse

1. The money.

One of the main reasons I chose nursing was because of the earning capability. I was in the middle of a divorce, had two small children and no career to fall back on. I figured that I would always have a job if I worked in healthcare. I hoped for job security. I know that the market has changed significantly since I graduated but I still believe this is true. I’m not embarrassed to admit this, it happens to be the truth.

2. The respect.

I have ALWAYS been proud to be a nurse. Even when the work is hard and the time is short I have always known that I am serving humankind when they are the most needy. My patients are always happy to see me. How could any other profession be more important or satisfying?

3. The thrill. 

The amazing feeling I get when I help someone, whether it was something big or small, is almost unmatched in my personal or professional life. I am often so excited that I want to shout from the rooftops.

4. The fun. 

Um. This is hard to explain if you aren’t a nurse, but take my word for it. Getting the foley in on the first try, getting the IV in on the first try, healing a wound, teaching someone a new skill, seeing a patient get better or bringing comfort to a patient or family member.

5. The friends. 

The people I have worked with since I became a nurse all hold a special place in my heart. The friendships and camaraderie is almost instantaneous. This is a special feeling I share with nurses even those I have only just met. Being a nurse is like being part of a huge extended family.

6. The experiences. 

The experiences I have had with my patients, their families and the other people I work with have shaped my life in a way I could not have imagined.

7. The options.

Being a nurse can mean many things. I can work with blood and guts or I can sit at a desk. I can work with children and then decide I want to work with the elderly. I can work full time, part time, summers only, shift work, occasional visits, or even from home. This is hugely attractive to me and to most people I’m sure.

8. The knowledge. 

Having the ability to save someone’s life is quite the useful talent. Knowing all the other stuff comes in handy also.

9. The people. 

I have met so many different people living completely different lives than my own. It is easy to live life in your small circle of friends and family and not realize that there are so many different types of people on this Earth that you may never get to meet or experience. I am so grateful for what I have, seeing how terrible some peoples’ lives are, its impossible not to gain perspective.

10. The stories. 

My patients share the most interesting stories with me. They often don’t want to talk about being sick so we talk about everything else instead. I have learned so much from these conversations-stories about the holocaust, about family, about all different types of professions. I have learned incredible things about strength and honor and even bravery. Of course I can’t tell any one else these stories, but take my word for it, they are amazing.

11. The stories. 

I have the best stories. I have a story for every disease you have ever heard of and several you have never heard of. Want to scare your kid into wearing a helmet? Not using drugs? Wearing a seat belt? Using sunscreen? Yup, got a terrible story for every scenario. Need a feel good story, got that too. Miraculous recoveries? Sure thing. Just let me know what you’re in the mood for and I will provide the entertainment or the inspiration, whatever you’re looking for.

Bottom line, I highly recommend nursing as quite the incredible profession. It has been for me.

Lessons I Have Learned

1. See 1-10

Leave a Reply

